保護您的加密貨幣:選擇硬件錢包

儘管加密可以帶來回報和令人興奮,但它肯定不是沒有令人痛苦的風險。在瀏覽加密貨幣時,我們都有幾個問題,例如丟失您的助記詞、匯款到錯誤的地址,或者最糟糕的是,您的錢包被盜,您的加密貨幣被盜。雖然有許多不同的方法可以降低這些風險,但您可以遵循的保護您的加密貨幣的最佳實踐之一是使用硬件錢包。硬件錢包,也稱為“冷存儲”,可讓您使您的加密貨幣保持離線狀態,並將黑客或詐騙者訪問您的加密貨幣的風險降至最低。

在這篇文章中,我們將解釋硬件錢包到底是什麼,它是如何工作的,為什麼要使用它們,在哪裡可以找到它們,以及如何將你的 $SAMO 存儲在其中。期望從這篇文章中走出來,更好地理解為什麼你可能想用硬件錢包來保護你的加密貨幣以及如何完成這項工作。

?
什麼是硬件錢包?

在深入了解硬件錢包到底是什麼之前,值得注意的是,您可以採用兩種類型的路徑來存儲您的加密貨幣:熱存儲(在線)和冷存儲(離線)。 

熱錢包始終連接到互聯網(熱存儲),存在於您的移動設備、台式機、筆記本電腦和瀏覽器(如 Chrome)上。這些是用於存儲加密貨幣的最受歡迎的錢包,因為它們易於使用和訪問。然而,雖然這種持續連接和即時訪問很方便,就像任何具有互聯網連接的程序或設備一樣,但黑客很容易訪問它們。

硬件錢包(冷存儲)的工作方式類似於熱錢包;它們允許您存儲、發送和接收您的代幣。此外,他們有自己的公鑰和私鑰。可以將公鑰視為您的帳戶/用戶名,而私鑰是您錢包的密碼。除了硬件錢包是一個物理對象(通常以 USB 的形式)之外,這兩個錢包之間的最大區別在於硬件錢包沒有連接到互聯網。這意味著錢包的內容不易受到在線攻擊。即使您將硬件錢包連接到互聯網以發送或接收代幣,錢包的私鑰也會保持離線狀態,因為硬件錢包是一種未連接到互聯網的冷存儲形式。

雖然硬件錢包非常適合安全地存儲您的加密貨幣,但將您的加密貨幣存儲在物理設備上會為您打開大門,您可能會丟失錢包、被盜,甚至在自然災害中被毀。此外,在物理設備(例如分類帳)上存儲大量加密貨幣可能不是最佳途徑。根據您擁有多少加密貨幣,探索託管服務提供商可能是有意義的,該提供商承擔存儲您的硬幣的風險,同時為他們存儲的硬幣提供保險。由於這些原因,值得探索額外的備份解決方案來存儲你的硬幣——例如將你的種子短語存儲在銀行保險庫中、獲取備份設備和/或使用託管服務提供商。

?
它是如何工作的?

連接您的錢包後,該設備將處於活動狀態並可以簽署和批准交易。一種常見的誤解是硬件錢包本身“持有”這些硬幣。實際上,它只是通過存儲您的私鑰來控制硬幣進出錢包的流量。一旦連接到互聯網,該設備就會訪問您的私鑰,以便您可以發送代幣和/或更新錢包中的硬幣餘額。 

?
為什麼要使用一個?

瀏覽網頁時,安全性應始終放在首位;加密也不例外。使用硬件錢包可以讓您完全控制誰可以訪問您的資金以及何時訪問您的資金。例如,在線黑客在使用硬件錢包時無法訪問您錢包的私鑰來竊取您的資金。

僅僅因為您使用的是硬件錢包並不意味著您對空間中的不良行為者免疫。例如,當您的錢包連接到互聯網時,您應該警惕您簽署了哪些交易以及鏈接到您的錢包的網站。此外,雖然在使用硬件錢包時擦除錢包要困難得多,但您仍然可以通過將錢包連接到惡意程序來損失一些資金。

?
在哪裡買

為了安全起見,請始終直接從設備製造商處購買您的錢包。切勿從亞馬遜或 eBay 等中介購買。這樣做,您將冒著將硬幣存儲在重新包裝的硬件設備上的風險,並且第三方賣家使用錢包的私鑰訪問您的資金。

那麼,你應該使用哪個硬件錢包呢?我們強烈建議您在做出自己的決定之前自行研究每個錢包的優缺點。然而,兩個最受歡迎的硬件錢包是 Trezor 和 Ledger。

  • 特雷佐
    • 優點
      • 彩色觸摸屏。 
      • 鋼結構。
    • 缺點
      • 沒有藍牙。
      • 沒有移動應用程序。
  • 賬本
    • 優點
      • 1800 多種支持的貨幣。
      • 藍牙功能。
    • 缺點
      • 顯示尺寸小。
      • Marketing Database 在 2020 年面臨安全漏洞。

?
如何使用

使用硬件錢包時,您最好的資源將始終來自設備製造商。在 Ledger 的情況下,您將需要下載第三方應用程序。 Trezor 也是如此。安裝後,您可以繼續將您的錢包連接到您選擇的熱錢包。例如,Phantom 有一個易於理解的教程,可以找到 這裡.

?
結論

導航加密貨幣時,您必須將安全性放在首位。有很多方法可以保護您的加密貨幣,但很少有像使用硬件錢包那樣簡單、有效和安全。既然您更好地理解了為什麼這些設備已成為該行業不可或缺的一部分,您應該認真考慮如何使用硬件錢包來保護您的硬幣。

相關博客

什麼是期權&文SAMO期權?

與任何成熟的市場一樣,加密貨幣最近為市場參與者看到了新的投資產品的爆炸式增長 […]

薩摩耶幣 gif

擁有 SOL 並想賺取被動收入?了解什麼是質押、如何進行質押,以及如何在 SOL 上獲得收益,以換取幫助保護和分散 Solana 區塊鏈的安全。

加密貨幣的新手常常忽視加密資產的市值而不是價格。不要犯那個錯誤!了解什麼是市值,如何計算,以及為什麼它對於導航加密貨幣至關重要。

繁體中文

Secure Your Crypto: Picking A Hardware Wallet

As rewarding and exciting as crypto can be, it’s most certainly not without its gut-wrenching risks. We all have several concerns when navigating crypto, such as losing your seed phrase, sending money to the wrong address, or worst of all, your wallet is compromised and your crypto is stolen. While there are many different ways to reduce these risks, one of the best practices you can follow to safeguard your crypto is using a hardware wallet. Hardware wallets, also known as “cold storage,” allow you to keep your crypto offline and minimize the risk of hackers or scammers accessing your crypto.

In this post, we will explain what exactly a hardware wallet is, how it works, why you should use them, where to find them, and how to even store your $SAMO on one. Expect to come away from this article with a better understanding of WHY you might want to secure your crypto with a hardware wallet and HOW to get the job done.


What Is a Hardware Wallet?

Before diving into what exactly a hardware wallet is, it’s worth noting that there are two types of paths you can take to store your crypto: hot storage (online) and cold storage (offline). 

Hot wallets are always connected to the internet (hot storage), existing on your mobile devices, desktops, laptops, and browsers, such as Chrome. These are the most popular wallets used for storing crypto because they’re easy to use and access. However, while this constant connectivity and instant access are convenient, like any program or device with internet connectivity, they’re easily accessible to hackers.

A hardware wallet (cold storage) works similarly to a hot wallet; they allow you to store, send, and receive your tokens. Also, they have their own public key and private key. A public key can be thought of as your account/username, and the private key is the password to your wallet. Other than the hardware wallet being a physical object (often in the form of a USB), the biggest difference between these two wallets is that the hardware wallet isn’t connected to the internet. This means that the wallet’s contents aren’t vulnerable to online attacks. Even when you connect your hardware wallet to the internet to send or receive tokens, the wallet’s private key is kept offline because hardware wallets are a form of cold storage that isn’t connected to the internet.

While hardware wallets are excellent for safely storing your crypto, storing your crypto on a physical device opens the door to you potentially losing your wallet, having it stolen, and even being destroyed in a natural disaster. Furthermore, storing large sums of crypto on a physical device, such as a Ledger, may not be the best path to take. Depending on how much crypto you own, it could make sense to explore a custodial service provider that assumes the risk of storing your coins while providing insurance on the coins they store. For these reasons, it is worth exploring additional backup solutions to store your coins – such as storing your seed phrase in a bank vault, getting a backup device, and/or using a custodial service provider.


How Does It Work?

Once your wallet is connected, the device is active and can sign and approve transactions. One common misconception is that the hardware wallet itself is “holding” these coins. In reality, it simply controls the flow of coins in and out of your wallet by storing your private key. Once connected to the internet, the device accesses your private key so you can send tokens and/or update the balance of the coins in your wallet. 


Why Should You Use One?

Security should always be front and foremost when navigating the web; crypto is no exception. The use of a hardware wallet puts you in complete control of who can access your funds and when. For example, an online hacker can’t access your wallet’s private key to steal funds from you when using a hardware wallet.

Just because you are using a hardware wallet does not mean you are immune to bad actors in the space. For example, when your wallet is connected to the internet, you should remain wary of which transactions you sign and which websites you link to your wallet. In addition, while it is much harder to wipe a wallet when using a hardware wallet, you can still lose some funds by connecting your wallet to a malicious program.


Where to Buy

To be safe, ALWAYS buy your wallet directly from the device manufacturer. Never buy from an intermediary, such as Amazon or eBay. By doing so, you run the risk of storing your coins on a repackage hardware device and the third-party seller using the wallet’s private key to access your funds.

So, which hardware wallet should you use? We strongly suggest you research on your own the pros and cons of each wallet before making your own decision. However, the two most popular hardware wallets are Trezor and Ledger.

  • Trezor
    • Pros
      • Color touch screen. 
      • Steel construction.
    • Cons
      • No Bluetooth.
      • No mobile applications.
  • Ledger
    • Pros
      • 1800+ supported currencies.
      • Bluetooth capabilities.
    • Cons
      • Small display size.
      • Marketing Database faced a security breach in 2020.


How to Use

When using your hardware wallet, your best resource will always be from the device manufacturer. In Ledger’s case, you will need to download a third-party application. The same goes for Trezor. Once installed, you can then move on to attach your wallet to the hot wallet of your choice. Phantom, for example, has an easy-to-follow tutorial that can be found here.


Conclusion

When navigating crypto, you must put security first and foremost. There are many ways to safeguard your crypto, but few are as easy, effective, and secure as using a hardware wallet. Now that you better understand why these devices have become an integral part of the industry, you should seriously consider how a hardware wallet could be used to safeguard your coins.

Related Blogs

Let’s face it, not everyone understands crypto. To make matters worse, several misconceptions have emerged over the years that have allowed for baseless and unfactual narratives to cloud people’s perspective of cryptoassets.

As with any market coming of age, crypto has recently seen an explosion in new investment products for market participants […]

Samoyedcoin gif

Have SOL and want to earn passive income? Learn what staking is, how to do it, and how you can earn a yield on your SOL in exchange for helping secure and decentralize the Solana blockchain.

English