什么是市值?为什么这有关系?

在浏览任何市场时,无论是加密货币还是股票,每个人都应该熟悉一些基本概念;其中最重要的一项是市值。不幸的是,那些刚接触市场的人经常误解资产价格与其价值或市值之间的关系。

2021 年,加密货币的新手被 DOGE、SHIB 和其他“meme 币”向 $1.00 的索赔所淹没。作为一分钱的一小部分,许多人认为这是不可避免的。他们不知道,他们最喜欢的狗币将用于 $1.00 并随后确保他们提前退休的承诺并不像他们被告知的那样现实。为什么?一个简单的词,市值。

在这篇文章中,我们将向您介绍什么是市值、如何计算它,以及为什么它对于理解资产的实际价值至关重要。

?
什么是市值?

市值,也称为“市值”,是资产的总价值。它是通过将当前价格乘以资产的流通供应量来计算的。例如,如果一个比特币价值 $40,000 并且有 1900 万比特币在流通,我们可以得到比特币的总价值(市值)乘以 $40,000 乘以 1900 万比特币。这样做,我们得到了 $760B 的市值。

?
为什么市值很重要?

市值是对公开交易市场总价值的衡量。其中,市值可以洞察一组买卖双方在任何特定时刻认为该资产的价值。它还可以作为有用的衡量标准来比较一种资产与另一种资产的价值。

假设 Google 的一股是 $2600,Apple 的一股是 $167。如果你纯粹通过看它们的股价来比较这两只股票,你可能会错误地认为谷歌比苹果更值钱。更糟糕的是,他们可能会说苹果“便宜”。但是,当考虑到每只股票的价格和股票数量时,他们会发现苹果的市值要大得多,因此价值更高。

?
“文$1?”

如前所述,根据价格评估资产可能会产生误导,并且不能反映其真实价值。但不幸的是,许多人继续犯这个错误。更糟糕的是,有些人故意利用不知情的人向他们承诺一夜之间加密资产“月亮”。

让我们来看看 DOGE、SHIB 和 SAMO。如果我们将这些加密资产并排堆叠,我们将看到每种代币达到 $1 的承诺价格的能力存在一些根本差异。

从 SAMO 开始,当前的流通供应量,或市场参与者可用的所有硬币,为 3.25B SAMO。相比之下,DOGE 和 SHIB 的循环供应分别为 133B DOGE 和 549T SHIB。为了获得每只狗币的市值,我们将这些数字乘以它们的当前价格。


市值:

3.25B 萨摩 x $0.02 = $65M

133B 狗 x $0.12235 = $16.4B

549T SHIB x $0.00002365 = $13B


在这里我们可以看到 SAMO 的市值是 DOGE 和 SHIB 的一小部分。不仅如此,我们还可以看到,尽管 DOGE 和 SHIB 之间的价格存在差异,但它们的市值差异并不大。

更进一步,我们可以计算出每枚狗币的市值为 $1。


每枚硬币 $1.00 的隐含市值:

3.25B 萨摩 x $1 = $3.25B

133B 狗 x $1 = $133B

549T SHIB x $1 = $549T


即使在 $1 SAMO,市值仍然是 DOGE 和 SHIB 当前市值的一小部分。但是,$1 DOGE 的市值相当于全球支付处理器 PayPal 的市值。全球股票市场估值为 $125T,$1 SHIB 意味着其市值是现有所有公共股票的 4.3 倍。不用说,在根据达到某个价格水平的预期做出任何决定时,必须考虑资产的市值。

?
完全稀释市值

尽管考虑到资产的市值可能是适用的,但它并不总是说明将存在的代币总数。这是因为市值仅考虑流通供应或当前可用的硬币数量。如果我们想考虑将存在的硬币数量(最大供应量),我们可以转向完全稀释的市值。

继续我们的狗币示例,我们会发现 DOGE 目前的供应量是无限的。也就是说,每天都会有新的DOGE被挖出来,并且会被挖到永远。因此,随着时间的推移,DOGE 击中 $1 变得越来越困难。同时SHIB最大供应量为590T,SAMO最大供应量为4.75B。

完全稀释市值:

4.7B 萨摩 x $0.20 = $94M

133B 狗 x $0.12235 = $16.4B

590T SHIB x $0.00002365 = $14B

请注意,由于每天都会开采新的 DOGE,因此完全稀释的市值将始终等同于市值。但对于 SAMO 和 SHIB,市值和完全稀释的市值之间会有差异,直到他们的所有硬币都进入流通。尽管这些数字与市值相比没有本质区别,但它们可以用于其他加密资产。

出于这个原因,还值得考虑加密资产的市值与其完全稀释的市值和所说的差异相比如何。尽管并非总是如此,但差异越大,随着新供应进入市场,资产可能面临的潜在下行压力就越大。

?
结论

如您所见,价格不是一切。此外,您现在应该看到不了解资产市值的重要性如何导致一些人相信古怪的说法。因此,下次您研究资产并根据价格达到特定水平(例如 $1.00)做出决定时,在决定价格目标是否现实之前,请考虑资产的市值、流通供应量和最大供应量。

相关博客

什么是期权&文SAMO期权?

与任何成熟的市场一样,加密货币最近为市场参与者看到了新的投资产品的爆炸式增长 […]

萨摩耶币 gif

拥有 SOL 并想赚取被动收入?了解什么是质押、如何进行质押,以及如何在 SOL 上获得收益,以换取帮助保护和分散 Solana 区块链的安全。

加密货币的新手常常忽视加密资产的市值而不是价格。不要犯那个错误!了解什么是市值,如何计算,以及为什么它对于导航加密货币至关重要。

简体中文

What Is Market Cap? Why Does It Matter?

When navigating any market, be it crypto or stocks, there are a handful of foundation concepts EVERYONE should be familiar with; one of the most important is market capitalization. Unfortunately, those new to markets often misconstrue the relationship between an asset’s price and its value, or market cap.

In 2021, newcomers to crypto were inundated with the claim of DOGE, SHIB, and other “meme coins” heading to $1.00. Being a fraction of a penny, many believed such to be inevitable. Unbeknown to them, the promise their favorite dog coin going to $1.00 and subsequently securing their early retirement wasn’t as realistic as they were told. Why? One simple word, market cap.

In this post, we will walk you through what market capitalization is, how to calculate it, and why it is crucial to understanding the actual value of an asset.


What Is Market Cap?

Market capitalization, also known as “market cap,” is the total value of an asset. It is calculated by taking the current price and multiplying it by the asset’s circulating supply. For example, if one bitcoin is worth $40,000 and there are 19M bitcoins in circulation, we can get bitcoin’s total value (market cap) multiplying $40,000 by 19M bitcoins. Doing so, we get a market cap of $760B.


Why Does Market Cap Matter?

Market cap is a measurement of the total value in a publically traded market. Amongst all else, market cap can lend insight into what a group of buyers and sellers believe the asset to be worth at any given moment. It also serves as a useful measuring stick to compare the value of one asset against another.

Consider that one share of Google is $2600 and one share of Apple is $167. If you compare these two stocks against one another purely by looking at their share price, one might incorrectly argue that Google is worth more than Apple. Even worse, they may say that Apple is “cheap.” However, when factoring in the price of each stock and how many shares exist, they will find that Apple has a much larger market capitalization and is thus worth more.


“Wen $1?”

As previously mentioned, valuing an asset based on its price can be misleading and does not reflect its true value. But unfortunately, many people continue to make this mistake. Even worse, some intentionally take advantage of the uninformed to promise them a cryptoasset “mooning” overnight.

Let’s take a look at DOGE, SHIB, and SAMO. If we stack these cryptoassets side-by-side, we’ll see some fundamental differences in each coin’s ability to reach the all-too-promised price of $1.

Starting with SAMO, the current circulating supply, or all coins available to market participants, is 3.25B SAMO. This compares to DOGE and SHIB’s circulating supply of 133B DOGE and 549T SHIB, respectively. To get the market cap of each dog coin, we multiple these figures by their current price.


Market Cap:

3.25B SAMO x $0.02 = $65M

133B DOGE x $0.12235 = $16.4B

549T SHIB x $0.00002365 = $13B


Here we can see that the market cap of SAMO is a fraction of DOGE and SHIB. Not only that, but we can see that despite the difference in the price between DOGE and SHIB, they do not differ substantially in market cap.

Taking things one step further, we can calculate the market cap each dog coin would have at $1 each.


Implied Market Cap at $1.00 Per Coin:

3.25B SAMO x $1 = $3.25B

133B DOGE x $1 = $133B

549T SHIB x $1 = $549T


Even at $1 SAMO, the market cap remains a fraction of DOGE and SHIB’s current market cap. However, a $1 DOGE equates to a market cap larger than global payment processor PayPal. With the Global Equity Market valued at $125T, a $1 SHIB would mean that its market cap is 4.3 times greater than all public stocks in existence. Needless to say, it’s imperative to consider an asset’s market cap when making any decisions based on the expectation of a certain price level being reached.


Fully Diluted Market Cap

As applicable as considering an asset’s market cap may be, it doesn’t always account for the total number of coins that will exist. This is because the market cap only accounts for circulating supply or the number of coins that are currently available. If we wanted to factor in the number of coins that will ever exist (maximum supply), we could turn to the fully diluted market cap.

Staying with our dog coin example, we’ll find that DOGE currently has an unlimited supply. That is to say, new DOGE is mined every day and will continue to be mined for eternity. So with each passing day, it becomes increasingly more difficult for DOGE to hit $1. Meanwhile, SHIB’s max supply is 590T, and SAMO’s max supply is 4.75B.

Fully Diluted Market Cap:

4.7B SAMO x $0.20 = $94M

133B DOGE x $0.12235 = $16.4B

590T SHIB x $0.00002365 = $14B

Note that because new DOGE is mined daily, the fully diluted market cap will always equate to market cap. But for SAMO and SHIB, there will be a difference between market cap and fully diluted market cap until all their coins enter circulation. Though these figures are not materially different compared to market cap, they can be for other cryptoassets.

For this reason, it’s also worthwhile to consider how a cryptoasset’s market cap compares to its fully diluted market cap and said difference. Though not always, the greater the difference, the greater the potential downward pressure an asset can experience as new supply enters the market.


Conclusion

As you can see, price is not EVERYTHING. Also, you should now see how failing to understand the importance of an asset’s market cap can lead some to believe outlandish claims. So the next time you research an asset and base your decision on price hitting a particular level, such as $1.00, consider the asset’s market cap, circulating supply, and max supply before deciding whether or not a price target is realistic.

Related Blogs

Let’s face it, not everyone understands crypto. To make matters worse, several misconceptions have emerged over the years that have allowed for baseless and unfactual narratives to cloud people’s perspective of cryptoassets.

As with any market coming of age, crypto has recently seen an explosion in new investment products for market participants […]

Samoyedcoin gif

Have SOL and want to earn passive income? Learn what staking is, how to do it, and how you can earn a yield on your SOL in exchange for helping secure and decentralize the Solana blockchain.

English